On Tolkien, Basques & Atlantis…

http://www.buber.net/Forum/viewtopic.php?t=262

Jhangora wrote: I have read a few articles on the lost continent of Atlantis.Some people consider Basques among survivors of Atlantis.I would like to know your view on Atlantis.

Basque Country

What does Basque Folklore say regarding origin of Basques.

Kind of related, but I wonder if J.R.R. Tolkien borrowed from Basque? I noticed that in Basque Mythology there is a mention of superhuman beings known as Númen and in the story of Númenor the race of men known as the Edain especially those of the Dunedain had long life and ability to heal, such as the case with Aragorn. There were three cultures of the Edain, Dunedain, Druedain, and Adanedhel. The Druedain are the forest people, probably the most ancient settled in Middle Earth (kind of similar to the Basque being the most ancient in Europe theory). The men of Númenor have dark hair, grey eyes, tall, and were great mariners. I know the Basque are great seafarers, just as well the Catalan people in which I am sure is due to the strong geographical connection to the sea and the ocean. The other curiousity is the language of Númenor which in many ways looks similar to Basque and Anatolian (maybe it’s just me or the way I am seeing the letter ‘K’). Númenor and stone (Gondor, Gondolin) seem similar in Basque allegedly many words refer to stone. BTW, Gondolin (transposed on ME map to Iceland) is founded by Erin (which means Ireland) in Tolkien’s myth, and the Straight Road from the Grey Havens (transposed on ME map to SW coast of Ireland) founded by Aelfwine essentially an old English character that Tolkien borrows from St Brendan (who looked for the Blessed Islands or lands, and maybe even found the Fortunate Islands (Canary Islands), Azores and Madeira Is.)

Sorry for rambling on, but I love this stuff.
yeomanrycavalry

Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 4:58 pm
IP: 75.82.116.10
Top

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 03:44:54

    Wow, thanks so much for this information. I just realised thanks to this that I have Basque heritage and now my heritage is part of Atlantis!

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Jun 22, 2012 @ 05:48:38

      Sorry, Zoe, my other comment was also meant for you, but I clicked the wrong button!
      This gives me the opportunity then to add a question, if you don’t mind: do you live in the Basque country? Which part of it are your Basque origins from?

      Like

      Reply

  2. Bhaga
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 05:41:46

    Hello, Zoe! Glad that you are interested in this topic which is so fascinating also for me personally.
    If you want to read more about it, I have come back to it in several other posts too; I would recommend especially two of them, given your specific link with the Basques (I must have it too from other lifetimes, as in the present one I always loved them and their culture so much), you can just write the title of one of those posts at a time in the ‘search’ window at the top right of my blog:
    – Tolkien and his far-memories of Atlantis
    – The Berber Cravings in me
    And you could also write in the ‘search’ window the word ‘Basques’, that too would lead you to slightly different posts, but interesting ones as well.
    The most complete set of posts would appear if you simply click on the right side of my blog, where all the ‘CATEGORIES’ are listed down: one category is ‘ATLANTIS IN OUR LIVES’; if you click on that one you will get all the posts that lead one way or the other to far Atlantean roots in our present lives.
    Be ready for a vast exploration of an extremely interesting information about that yet little known past of ours!… And please go on commenting about it as you go, I’ll be very glad to read more from you!🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kayleigh
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 21:48:28

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. Many thanks

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

