The Wimbledon Samurai

The Tennis Championship is on,

I am watching the men who fight

With their rackets and their temper…

One is Serbian and long, and serious and stern,

The other one is from Cyprus,

A big grin on his bearded face,

He likes to laugh and goof around…

But wait – now what’s this profile?!

His hair is up, all tied in a high knot,

He is not elegant, but he is standing proud,

And one can see so clear he is a samurai,

A secret samurai hiding in tennis clothes,

Fighting but respecting always the honour code,

His long saber in hand as centuries ago.

From beyond time he comes, and doesn’t remember,

But his body still knows how to tie his hair,

How to dive and strike, to attack and retreat,

His cells remember all and do it all for him…

Have we known each other, Wimbledon Samurai,

When I too was a Samurai?…

I smile at you a friendly smile…

Of course we are all One, I know;

Yet it is nice also to meet

Those we have known in other times!…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Post Scriptum:

As for the Wimbledon Samurai I speak of, my writing about him has actually nothing to do with Pat Cegan’s inspiring poem, ‘Samurai Integrity’, on her blog ‘Source of Inspiration’:
It just happened that without knowing it we both wrote at the same time but independently about Samurais, her with an accent on the integrity, me with the intention only to tell about my surprise to suddenly sense an ancient Japanese samurai in a present time Cyprus tennis champion I was watching on my TV screen while he played at Wimbledon, for sure quite unaware of having ever been a samurai out there in Japan in another century…! Although perhaps he has some interest in that culture, on top of the unconscious remnants of it that are obviously still there in his way of moving and even of dressing on court. The two photos I selected of him in action are but two examples of his spontaneous gestures and attitudes that are just incredibly samurai-like, if you replace the racket with a saber. Perhaps some day some one else will point out that fact to him, or he will somehow stumble upon this post and these comments of mine, that say it all…!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat Cegan
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 07:11:10

    I love this! How well you capture the modern Samurai. How often we fail to live up to our own code of ethics. I say, I do. Seems simple but it is not. In some things I am the Samurai warrior, always true to my word. Ironically, I fail most often in promises I make to myself. But I am grateful for these lapses for they show me how important it is to keep my integrity. I say, I do!

    Wonderful piece. With your permission, I will post a link here with my response to your comment on my blog. Much love and light coming your way. hugs, pat

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Jun 27, 2011 @ 10:02:16

      Well, Pat, if this post came out as some kind of a poem, I strongly suspect it’s all your fault!!! I’ve been many times inspired to write ‘soul-songs’ in French, but this must be the very first time I’ve found myself writing in such a ‘poetic’ sort of form something I would normally write about in plain prose style as my other posts until this one.
      Guess whose wonderful, poem-woven blog I have been reading avidly these days??? Yes, Pat Cegan’s ‘Source of Inspiration’!… All those great little poems of yours have had quite an impact subconsciously on the writer in me, it would seem, that now s/he longs to express herself/himself in that mode too! Or perhaps this one time only?… We’ll see: no idea what is now cooking on the back burners of my being, inspired by the delicious dishes tasted at your inn!… Funny image, I know, I am surprised of it myself, but it is the one that comes to me quite vividly and even visually – probably because what you write has been recorded within me as food, inner food, while it was read/ingested hungrily.
      As for the code of honor, I have a very strong and very exacting one; humanly impossible to live by, one could say, but when one knows we human beings are actually evolving to a higher and truer consciousness, what can be said to be impossible?! I’m half joking only……I’m learning to forgive myself my rare lapses, my problem seems to be that I am too hard on myself… and sometimes on others too, I’m afraid. My standards, I discover more and more often, are too high for others to even envisage, so I seem to them ‘rather nice but a bit crazy’, I guess!!!
      People don’t expect you to be still a samurai or a knight these days. The one i recognized at Wimbledon doesn’t know himself to have been one either, I’m sure.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Daydreamertoo
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 14:22:39

    Having just read about the Samurai on Pat’s blog I had no idea from her link it would bring me to a modern day warrior and a game of tennis too.
    A very good twist on what it takes to be a Samurai too.

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Jun 27, 2011 @ 15:38:06

      Welcome here, Daydreamertoo! What a nIce name you have chosen for yourself… I’ll have to go visit your blog too, very soon hopefully!🙂

      As for the Wimbledon Samurai I speak of, my writing about him has actually nothing to do with Pat’s poem, ‘Samurai Integrity’:
      It just happened that without knowing it we both wrote at the same time but independently about Samurais, her with an accent on the integrity, me with the intention only to tell about my surprise to suddenly sense an ancient Japanese samurai in a present time Cyprus tennis champion I was watching on my TV screen while he played at Wimbledon, for sure quite unaware of having ever been a samurai out there in Japan in another century…! Although perhaps he has some interest in that culture, on top of the unconscious remnants of it that are obviously still there in his way of moving and even of dressing on court. The two photos I selected of him in action are but two examples of his spontaneous gestures and attitudes that are just incredibly samurai-like, if you replace the racket with a saber. Perhaps some day some one else will point out that fact to him, or he will somehow stumble upon this post and these comments of mine, that say it all…!
      And now, this being clarified, as in this part of the world it is becoming late, I’ll go to bed – but not without sending a big smile to you, wherever you are. See you tomorrow!

      Like

      Reply

  3. mbwilliams
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 19:53:13

    The Samurai do live on…

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Jun 28, 2011 @ 06:08:56

      Oh yes you are right, they do, Mark!… We have plenty of them just in Auroville alone, so I know!!!😀 Most of them don’t know, but some do, and even have a beautiful saber up somewhere on a wall of their home. Many still practice martial arts like you do. For a long time I thought I had rather been a geisha, but no, it turns out I was a samurai at some point, and at another point an old philosopher or something like that, more of an intellectual man that time around, but grown wise it seems.
      Not just the samurais – or the knights, like has been also my case – but all kinds of other people we have been, live on too: tons of ex-monks and nuns here, from the Western monasteries as well as from the Tibetan ones; quite a few people too who have been part of the French Revolution, on either side of the guillotine!… I could go on and on… including all the poor unknown peasants and other nobodies from all corners of the world… All working now consciously for the better future of the planet and all its inhabitants.
      By the way, Mark, is it not a samurai’s saber there across the top of your blog, along with the rose?…🙂
      Nice to meet you!

      Like

      Reply

      • mbwilliams
        Jun 29, 2011 @ 18:45:42

        Talk about walking in other people’s shoes!

        Yes it is my very own Katana (licensed and insured of course for the modern age we find ourselves in!).

        Great to meet you too

        Like

  4. informationforager
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 02:16:00

    Very good. The pictures are great. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

