Meeting the Divine on the Road

I am sitting crossed-legs on a bed in a hut, meditating as usual in this early evening, together with the few other people who in this Aurovilian place on the beach are keen to practice the ‘Concentration in the Heart’ as recommended by Sri Aurobindo and the Mother as one of the central means used in their Integral Yoga aimed at Conscious Evolution.
My eyes are closed, my consciousness keeps its focus deep in the center of my chest, behind the region of the heart. As usual my breath is hardly perceptible, so calm and peaceful I have become already.
Suddenly, my consciousness finds itself plunging further within, diving at incredible speed in total darkness towards some unknown vertiginous depths of my being… until everything stops, with a still image in front of me: the face, tanned and wrinkled, of a man, a humble man, a laborer, a peasant perhaps; his face is not especially attractive, but what makes it absolutely fascinating for me, and beautiful indeed, is the expression on this face: love, adoration, total self-giving, in his tear-filled eyes turned towards somebody this man is looking at, whom I don’t see.
Then the face disappears, and my consciousness hurtles back from those incredible depths, to its normal meditation level.
My eyes still closed, I am stunned by what has just happened. I have no idea what it means. I go on with my concentration in the heart just as usual until the agreed time ends.
The next day, same meditation again in the evening; I have hardly sat down on the bed that my consciousness again starts diving at amazing speed… until the same face is there again in front of me; but this time it doesn’t remain still; it becomes the living reality I am also part of, me, a hardened woman in her fifties, a simple laborer too who has worked hard all her life and is terribly embittered, embittered against God who allows so much hardship and suffering down here for us poor humans, when He is happily staying in those Higher Regions where all is pleasant.  
I have heard of a supposedly special young prophet people speak about, who will come today on this road, so I am waiting, together with many other simple or rich folks on both sides of the road. That humble man also waiting is on the other side in the crowd, and from his side he is already seeing the one who comes… and the expression on his face makes me almost jealous, so full of love and adoration it is, I can’t take my eyes off that face, I have never seen anything like that in my whole life.
But the one who is coming is now visible from my side too, I see Him, I see Him… and my whole being gasps at what it sees: this is not really a human being, it is the Divine who is there, all Light and Love, luminous from within, with this Light of Love flowing out of his whole body, entering me, and my soul jumps out of my chest to fall at His feet, and I am sobbing, sobbing, all the pain and bitterness are melted and washed away, and I feel myself overflowing with gratitude and joy, for the Divine has come, He is living with us here on this poor land, sharing our life!… Thank you, thank you, oh Lord, you really love us!!!
Time stops, I remain in the pure bliss of that eternal moment in that other lifetime, oblivious of all else, until my consciousness several hours later finally finds itself back on that bed in this reality, late in the night, long after everyone else has tiptoed out, leaving me alone, entranced, in that hut. My body is still in the sitting position, quite stiff, it needs now absolutely to lie down and relax fully, and rest. I slowly manage to move my limbs enough to lie on that bed, and I fall asleep immediately.
I wake up the next day with still the same eternal moment alive in me, for a few moments I wonder where I am, not recognizing my surroundings as those where I now live; I am confused, I look for different surroundings, another body, a different style of clothing, which are the reality I know of in that other lifetime. Gradually my consciousness shifts back more clearly to Auroville, India, 20th Century, but feels it is tearing itself painfully from that other reality, that other me who is as real and valid as the me I am coming back to. Some rationality surfaces again, looks at those strange feelings and understands I am in between two lifetimes, having reconnected inwardly with a life I have lived apparently 2000 years ago somewhere in Palestine at the time when Jesus-Christ walked this Earth and could be met on the road…
Why did this inner reconnection happen now?
A vague memory comes back, of having asked inwardly, about ten days ago, two questions, half-jokingly, but yet with a certain eagerness…

Those two questions, and the background leading to them, you will find in my previous post, which this one is completing by giving a fuller account of the major spiritual event I only mentioned there.

The fact that during several days my consciousness oscillated between the two lifetimes helped me very efficiently to fathom by direct experience what I had already read long before in some pages of Sri Aurobindo, but had failed to grasp at all, and had recoiled from: that Time in reality doesn’t exist, only a vast Timelessness (the ‘Spacious Present’, Jane Roberts’ Seth would say…) in which all is actually happening simultaneously.

Our mind as it functions normally cannot understand that, and finds it a rather dizzying notion; but as we willingly open ourselves to the supra-mental consciousness now present also on Earth, even such totally bewildering, literally ‘mind-blowing’ facts will  gradually become obvious to our new, vaster understanding, able to straddle all the layers/pockets of various space-time that exist in all the universes, for our spirits to play within them at having lifetimes as human beings, of the terrestrial kind or any other.

Meeting a conscious embodiment of the Divine on a road or another can be a very good way to start waking up again to our own forgotten Divine Selves…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katalina
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:07:34

    It always give me hope when I read your posts. I am just making baby steps … but so happy to know about The Mother and Sri Aurobindo.

    Keep up inspiring us.

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Sep 07, 2011 @ 01:17:07

      I am so happy to know about them too, and to be able to speak about them to others like you!
      And thank you for your so encouraging words for me; to know that what I write is useful to some other people does help me and strengthens me.
      As for your ‘baby steps’ (how sweet!), never mind, they will grow, along with you, with the constant help of the Divine. That’s what is so wonderful…

      Like

      Reply

  2. Pat Cegan
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:01:04

    A beautiful experience, Bhaga. It is almost impossible to relate to others what it is like to experience the Divine but you do it well. Thank you for sharing it with us. Hugs, pat

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:51:41

      It is a blessing actually to have to transmit through words a beautiful inner experience, for then you have to focus on it again almost entirely, that is, to re-experience it to some extent, in order for the right words to come, that will express as exactly as possible what needs to be expressed. You do it well too, in your own (usually much shorter!) way…

      Like

      Reply

  3. Katalina
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 07:07:41

    ” ‘Concentration in the Heart’ as recommended by Sri Aurobindo and the Mother. ”
    Do you have a link wich explains this in detail? In the book The integral yoga p 150 :
    In the heart centre one concentrates in an aspiration, for an opening, for the presence of the living image of the Divine there.
    I would like to read more about this.
    Love, Katalina

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Sep 13, 2011 @ 14:49:13

      I will look for the best texts I can find from Sri Aurobindo and Mother about this so important concentration, and post them here for you (and of course also for anyone else interested!).
      Love to you too,
      Bhaga

      Like

      Reply

    • Bhaga
      Sep 17, 2011 @ 05:39:00

      I just put up the new post about ‘Concentration in the Heart’… only to discover now that the text I quote is the same you briefly quoted from yourself!!! I don’t know of anything more specific anyway; but I did add in my post some comments of my own that might answer a bit what you are looking for. If not, please feel free to put again a comment on my new post!… Let your heart speak its real questions out! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. Trackback: What did Jesus look like?… | Lab of Evolution
  5. Uma Maheswari
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 16:10:51

    Beautiful … Absolute surrender to the Divine

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Aug 22, 2014 @ 04:57:48

      Thank you for expressing your appreciation through this warm comment of yours; many people, even when they like, do not take the trouble to write anything, oreven simply to ‘Like’ the post… Comments like yours are definitely an encouragement!🙂

      Like

      Reply

  6. Trackback: The Variety of Spiritual Experiences Lived by the Eternal Me in this Lifetime (put in chronological order) | Lab of Evolution

Leave a Reply

