‘Happy Birthday’, in your memory, dear Ian Charleson

Ian Charleson (foreground) and Ben Cross (left...

Ian Charleson (foreground) and Ben Cross (left) running in the “Chariots of Fire” music scene which bookends the film. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ian Charleson, who studied the Bible intensive...

Ian Charleson, who studied the Bible intensively for his role, wrote Eric Liddell’s inspirational speech to the post-race workingmen’s crowd. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A providential comment by a new visitor just alerted me to the fact that today, August 11, was the birthdate of Ian Charleson, the beloved actor who brought charismatic Scottish runner Eric Liddell to life for all of us in ‘Chariots of Fire’.

I invite all those who visit this blog today,

– to have a look at the posts I have put up last year in his honor, and

– to join me and the other fans of his who have contributed comments now and then here, for celebrating his memory especially on this occasion of his birthday anniversary…

Cheers! A toast to Ian!…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kapil
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 08:51:10

    Cheers to legendary Ian Charleson and he’ll be remembered not just on this day but forever and ever…

    Like

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Aug 29, 2015 @ 09:36:07

      I seem to have missed your comment when you posted it – or I have forgotten to reply to it!!! I am sorry about that, please accept my belated apologies!…🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Allison
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 22:29:54

    I have always loved Ian Charleson! This summer, I wrote a tribute to him and my other favorite British actors on my movie blog. I will go back and read the posts you wrote in his honor.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

