A Grateful Farewell To You, Dear Sharanam

A dear Aurovilian friend of mine just passed away a few days ago, a lady too, and my age, but from Spain. This is what I sent to be published this week in our Auroville internal weekly newsletter, under this title:

Oh Sharanam, dear Sharanam, what a shock, this sudden departure of yours!… You, the gentle but daring soul who had been the first to join me at the newborn Laboratory of Evolution, in 1985 already, to start together this Raw Food Kitchen that has been, to my knowledge, the first experimental Kitchen in Auroville for the food of the Future! You, the quiet and unassuming biologist and chemist who did this work with also all your heart, you had a few years later to finally stop doing it – although our little ‘Raw Kitchen’ had become rather successful – because of the quarreling atmosphere the next persons who joined the LOE brought in, that was making you sick… Not only was it the end of the ‘Raw Kitchen’, but I lost in that way the daily pleasure of working with you, this rare person capable of true, egoless collaboration with someone else. Even after you left we kept in touch over the years, and you kept appreciating my research work, even more so since in 2011 I started my blog: you followed it with a kind of awe that as always expressed your genuine, amazing humility and childlike sense of wonderment. The name that you had chosen for yourself, which means ‘Refuge’, I among others can attest was fully deserved: I had again the occasion to experience that fact a year ago when the deterioration of my health was found to be caused by a dangerous illness, news that brought you instantly to Djaima at my bedside as soon as I called you for help. And help me you did in many incredible ways along the following months, while by applying the inspired advice of last century’s extraordinary trance-seer in the USA, Edgar Cayce, I managed to reverse the course of the disease… It all became possible only thanks to your faithful and loving daily supply of the unusual diet and other means of treatment he had recommended for such cases. Both you, with your scientific background as a pharmacist, and I as a researcher, plus some others in Auroville, had all independently studied for many years Edgar Cayce’s ‘Readings’ and had already tested his advice with success, so we knew that the treatment he had outlined would definitely help – and it did, to our shared great joy. When later on I was able again to take care of myself on my own, I had to force you to accept my reimbursement of the many expenses you had also incurred for me without hesitation, although you were as short of personal funds for your own life as I was… And just recently we had rejoiced together again when finding a new, good and reliable source of certain food items both of our bodies needed… a source we shared the use of without even knowing it at first: a very special Tamil woman, Latha, who has taken up that job in complete seriousness and dedication about six months ago, and has soon become so appreciative of you, gentle and kind Sharanam, that she was already very worried when she alerted me yesterday: not well for fifteen days, you had been taken to that ICU in Pondy!… Seeing my alarm, she promised to phone me whatever news about you she could gather from your neighbors in Dana. I wished I was myself well enough to attend to you in Pondy if needed, but this morning (Friday the 2nd) on the phone Latha was sobbing, telling me the terrible, stunning news, and then there was nothing more we could do but sob together. When later I opened my email, the usual mass bulletin announcement only confirmed it, alas, dearest Sharanam: you were gone… except that I kept seeing your face smiling as if to comfort me… During her lunch-time break Latha took me along to the Farewell place and together we honored your body with flowers… I’m already missing you so much, and so do your other friends too, I’m sure… Please, after an enjoyable rest in the Light, do come back soon with a good new body, but the same so generous, cheerful and compassionate heart!

hqdefault

Leave a Reply

