The Joke that made God Laugh… and the Reply from God

A THOUGHT FOR TODAY:

If God exists, I hope he has a good excuse. –Woody Allen, author, actor, and filmmaker (b. 1 Dec 1935)

woody-allen-1

When I read that just two minutes ago, not only did I start laughing out loud – yes, that’s right: LOL indeed – but I had the surprise to kind of hear someone else laugh too… Quite a big other LOL it was, actually, although heard somewhat in the distance, it would seem, and yet so close…

Suddenly I realized – and it set me laughing again heartily –  that I knew who was that Someone: it was God’s own LOL I was hearing !!! Woody Allen’s joke  gave Him/Her a good chuckle, I can tell you!…

For God does enjoy a good laugh, S/he is even the Inventor of Laughter, to tell the truth. Not sarcasm or black humor (that’s human ego stuff at its worst) but just plain, pure, cheerful Laughter: sheer Fun. Here I often keep harping about God’s Love, and that’s definitely there too, for sure, and it’s the Real Thing at that. But please, for God’s sake, let’s not ever forget that God is also Laughter!…

Want God’s own confirmation of such a bold statement on my part?… Here you are:

“Dearest Woody Allen and other numberless forms of Me…

Of course I exist, otherwise you wouldn’t, and nothing else would either!

If while in human bodies on Earth you become amnesic and have such a bad opinion of Me, just go read for yourself this older post of Bhaga’s, one of my top favorites, all great quotes from my recent major incarnation, Sri Aurobindo, so it’s worth reading! You’ll find all of the real facts there, so hopefully this big misunderstanding between you and Me will end at last, and will be replaced in you by the utter Love for Me that I already have for you all, since Eternity and for Eternity…

Here is the address of that so excellent post:

https://labofevolution.wordpress.com/2011/05/09/the-laughing-god/

I really hope this will help in the new step you are now taking in your evolution, and we can live some time soon all together in harmony within Me, on Earth just as in Heaven… Amen – or So be it, as you prefer!

Affectionately yours for ever,

Your Father-Mother God

P.S.  In those quotes, you’ll see that Sri Aurobindo spoke of me as a He only, but simply so as not to make matters more complicated than they already were for his prospective readers: he took on their numerous distorted views about Me one at a time. He addressed the God-as-male-only distortion in other writings of his.”

Well, back to Bhaga here, taking up again the keyboard after this so enjoyable and illuminating communication straight from God…

The opening quote by Woody Allen was today’s special quote in the daily info I receive from ‘A.Word.A.Day with Anu Garg’, every time about a different word: as always the quote was selected because of the date of birth of its author  (2nd December, same as today) and was added as usual at the end of the message.

For that great joke, Anu Garg and Woody Allen, thank you very much! On my behalf, and on God’s!…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donsalmon
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 14:15:30

    I took a speed-reading course and read War and Peace in twenty minutes. It involves Russia.

    ***

    I’m astounded by people who want to ‘know’ the universe when it’s hard enough to find your way around Chinatown.

    ***

    If it turns out that there is a God, I don’t think that he’s evil. But the worst that you can say about him is that basically he’s an underachiever.

    ***

    To you I’m an atheist; to God, I’m the Loyal Opposition.

    ***

    I was thrown out of college for cheating on the metaphysics exam; I looked into the soul of the boy sitting next to me.

    ***

    What if everything is an illusion and nothing exists? In that case, I definitely overpaid for my carpet.

    ***

    More than any other time in history, mankind faces a crossroads. One path leads to despair and utter hopelessness. The other, to total extinction. Let us pray we have the wisdom to choose correctly.

    ***

    It’s not that I’m afraid to die, I just don’t want to be there when it happens.

    ****

    I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it through not dying.

    ***

    I don’t believe in the after life, although I am bringing a change of underwear.

    ***

    Death doesn’t really worry me that much, I’m not frightened about it… I just don’t want to be there when it happens.

    Woody Allen

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Bhaga
      Dec 04, 2016 @ 09:12:14

      Hi Don!… Thank you so much!!! You made my day…
      I see you are as well versed in Woody Allen as in Sri Aurobindo!!! ;-D
      I cannot compete with you here, as I am almost illiterate in this very American author etc, and humorist… but I thoroughly enjoyed your selection of these real gems, the first one of which had me simply howling with laughter!… My neighbors in this (very silent otherwise) Luminosity must have been rather intrigued as to what was happening to me! And on a Sunday on top of that, the usually quietest day of the week here…
      Well, they don’t know that an essential and literally vital part of my life and work as a Researcher in Conscious Evolution is to laugh heartily as often as can be!…
      My warmest thanks for having helped so efficiently with your comment… 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • donsalmon
        Dec 04, 2016 @ 12:45:40

        Well, i don’t know if it’s quite laugh out loud funny, but one of my favorite comments from the Indian tradition is in Ramakrishna’s answer to someone asking what the purpose of evil was:

        “To thicken the plot.”

        But coming back to good ole USA (not sure how ‘good ole’ it is these days, but we won’t spoil the fun)

        One day, the cantor (that’s the fellow in a Jewish temple who sings during the service) was getting ready to go home, and was suddenly seized with a deep spirit of devotion and humility. He walked up to the front of the temple, got on his knees and prayed out loud:

        “Oh Lord, truly, You are the greatest in all creation, and I, I am nothing, nothing at Your feet.”

        Well, the rabbi was walking by, overheard this, and was so moved, he walked up to where the cantor was, got down on his knees, and cried out,

        “Oh Lord, I too am the least of your creatures, I am truly nothing, less than nothing.”

        So as the cantor and the rabbi were proclaiming their deep humility, the janitor, who had been sweeping up, noticed what they were saying, and his heart was touched. He walked up to them, got down on his knees on the other side of the cantor, and poured his heart out:

        “Oh Lord, Lord, I am less than dust, I am truly the least of your creatures, truly, truly, I am nothing.”

        At which point, the rabbi jabbed the cantor in the ribs and muttered, “Hah! Look who think’s HE’S nothing!!”

        Like

Leave a Reply

